The Forest I Have Grown

“One day when you wake up, you will find that you have become a forest. You have grown roots and found strength in them that no one thought you had. You have become stronger and more beautiful, full of life giving qualities. You have learned to take all the negativity around you and turn it into oxygen for easy breathing. A host of wild creatures live inside you and you call them stories. A variety of beautiful birds rest inside your mind and you call them memories. You have become an incredible self sustaining thing of epic proportions. And you should be so proud of yourself, of how far you have come from the seeds of who you used to be.”

I fell in love with this quote in a matter of seconds. Simple phrases are written so beautifully with what seems like no effort. The idea of being a forest is so magical to me yet it is conveyed by the writer (whose name I do not know) so matter-of-factly, as if what they are writing is nothing special. Yet here I am, not able to stop thinking of their words and rereadig them over and over since first discovered a couple of nights ago on an Instagram account (@humanlovers).

Maybe it is just my artistic mind is at play, but I can’t help feeling like this quote is one that would set anyone’s imagination on fire. With every sentence, I can feel flower petals blooming and raindrops sliding off of leaves growing within me. I can hear a rustling of branches in my ears and the cracking of twigs beneath my feet. With every sentence I come to life a bit more… then the quote ends and I’m left with a feeling of overwhelming peace.

I think it is so wonderful how a person’s words can change another’s day, mood, even life. I have no idea who the author of this writing is. I do not know if it is a man or woman, girl or boy. I do not know their story, their religion, their sexual orientation, their eye color, or their hometown. The mystery of where this piece of writing came from makes it even lovelier in my opinion. This quote can be read by anyone and feel as though it was written just for them. Like this tiny piece of literature was meant to make them feel like they are right where they are supposed to be in life. That they are human and breathing and reading and enjoying and understanding and visualizing – things that we are all so lucky to be able to do.

I don’t think I take enough time to sit down and think about what really matters, what I should really be grateful for. I’m blessed to have eyes to read quotes like this. I’m blessed to have the hands to write any of this. I’m blessed to be a life-sustaining creature.

I also don’t take enough time to sit down and think about the forest I have become. I know what I’ve been through and I know what I’ve overcome, but I rarely reflect on it. After finding this quote I reflected on my life in a meditative way and it made me feel so proud of myself – something I feel far too little.

A forest is not a forest without its trees. A tree is not a tree without its leaves. Every tree that I have grown is symbolic. I have learned to water seeds of all tree species, even ones I may not love, because they are necessary for the ecosystem. I have learned that I can grow flowers of the most brilliant, exotic colors in the darkest of caves or under the largest canopies. I am not me without my living trees and my dying trees, my green leaves and my orange leaves, my mud and my moss, my chirping birds and neon blooms.

It is exhilarating to think of the human life in this way. To think that all of my experiences, memories, and stories are all a part of a world that I have created – one that is ever changing and constantly evolving.

The day I woke up to find I have become a forest was the day I found this quote. Sending my thanks to whoever it’s owner may be…

Leave a Reply

